Welcome - President's Message

I was born in Montreal of Gildonese origin in 1958. I am also the current president of the Montreal Gildonese association of which it has 400 members. My mother immigrated from Gildone in 1954 and my father in 1955. They met and married in Montreal in 1958. My wife was also born in Montreal of Gildonese origin in 1960. Her father arrived here when he was 15, he had earned some money and went back to Gildone, there he got married and went back to Montreal.

This is a typical example of most of the Gildonese immigrants who arrived in Montreal after World War II.

Currently our Montreal Gildonese community is made up of approximately 3,500, of which nearly 5 times the current Gildone population. We have now arrived at the 4th generation of Gildonese origin. The majority, we are second generation Gildonesi, born in Montreal.

So, it all started 70 years ago, in 1950. The first families to arrive in Montreal were the pioneers, then the majority arrived from 1955 to 1960. Times were tough. Immigrating to a country, not knowing the language and culture, was not easy and it took courage. They were united and worked to adapt to Canadian culture while maintaining their Gildonese traditions and customs.

In 1965, the Montreal Gildonese Association was founded by Giuseppe Di Lillo to further unite the Montreal Gildonese community. Over the years, parties have been organized, such as Mothers' Day, Scuffolata, Christmas Party, New Year's Party, Valentine's Day and other sports activities such as football, bowls and skiing. With all these events, every year our Madonna Maria S delle Grazie was celebrated with a procession in August.

For all of us who were born in Canada, our language at birth was not Italian, it was the Gildonese dialect. Our parents arrived here very young, most between 18 and 25 years old and had very little education at the time. So we grew up with the Gildonese traditions and culture as it was many years ago.

Today very few know how to speak Italian, but everything when nuy 'spoke in a perfect Gildonese dialect like the ancestors'. Unfortunately, many of the first arrivals are no longer with us, but we continue to maintain the traditions we grew up with and for this we are very lucky and we are grateful to our ancestors.

Today we live a life rich in education and culture and this is priceless.

On behalf of the committee, many greetings to all our members, our villagers in Canada, Italy and all Gildonese in the world!

Giampiero Ricciardi
President




All rights reserved 2022  - Gildonese Association of Montreal Canada
Website design by MLS

Bienvenue - Message du Président

Je suis né à Montréal d'origine gildonese en 1958. Je suis aussi le président actuel de l'association gildonaise de Montréal dont elle compte 400 membres. Ma mère a immigré de Gildone en 1954 et mon père en 1955. Ils se sont rencontrés et se sont mariés à Montréal en 1958. Ma femme est également née à Montréal d'origine gildonese en 1960. Son père est arrivé ici quand il avait 15 ans, il avait gagné un peu d'argent et est retourné à Gildone, il s'y est marié et est retourné à Montréal.

Il s'agit d'un exemple typique de la plupart des immigrants gildones qui sont arrivés à Montréal après la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Actuellement, notre communauté Gildonese de Montréal est composée d'environ 3 500, dont près de 5 fois la population Gildone actuelle. Nous sommes maintenant arrivés à la 4ème génération d'origine Gildonese. La majorité, nous sommes Gildonesi de deuxième génération, nés à Montréal.

Tout a donc commencé il y a 70 ans, en 1950. Les premières familles arrivées à Montréal étaient les pionniers, puis la majorité sont arrivées de 1955 à 1960. Les temps étaient durs. Immigrer dans un pays, sans connaître la langue et la culture, n'était pas facile et il fallait du courage. Ils étaient unis et ont travaillé pour s'adapter à la culture canadienne tout en conservant leurs traditions et coutumes gildones.

En 1965, l'Association Gildonese de Montréal a été fondée par Giuseppe Di Lillo pour unir davantage la communauté Gildonese de Montréal. Au fil des ans, des fêtes ont été organisées, telles que la fête des mères, la Scuffolata, la fête de Noël, la fête du Nouvel An, la Saint-Valentin et d'autres activités sportives telles que le football, la pétanque et le ski. Avec tous ces événements, chaque année notre Madonna Maria S delle Grazie était célébrée avec une procession en août.

Pour nous tous qui sommes nés au Canada, notre langue de naissance n'était pas l'italien, c'était le dialecte gildonese. Nos parents sont arrivés ici très jeunes, la plupart entre 18 et 25 ans et très peu scolarisés à l'époque. Nous avons donc grandi avec les traditions et la culture gildonese comme il y a de nombreuses années.

Aujourd'hui, très peu savent parler italien, mais tout le monde quand nuy 'parlait dans un dialecte gildonais parfait comme les ancêtres'. Malheureusement, beaucoup des premiers arrivants ne sont plus avec nous, mais nous continuons à maintenir les traditions avec lesquelles nous avons grandi et pour cela nous sommes très chanceux et nous sommes reconnaissants envers nos ancêtres.

Aujourd'hui, nous vivons une vie riche en éducation et en culture et cela n'a pas de prix.

Au nom du comité, beaucoup de salutations à tous nos membres, nos villageois au Canada, en Italie et à tous les Gildonais du monde!

Giampiero Ricciardi
Président



Tous droits reservée 2022  - Association Gildonese de Montreéal Canada
Conception du site par MLS